Ribatejo, The Territory and The Tagus River Valley

The Ribatejo is bordered on the north-west with the Beira Litoral, the West and the South with Extremadura, the Southeast with the Alto Alentejo and the North and Northeast with Beira Interior. Its headquarters and largest city is Santarém.


At the time of its creation, was comprised of 23 municipalities, which included almost the entire district of Santarém (except Ourém municipality), and also two municipalities in the district of Lisbon, a district of Portalegre, and also two municipalities in the district Setubal. The province later now has 24 municipalities, with autonomy in 1945, the county’s Junction, by dividing the Vila Nova da Barquinha), distributed as follows:

District of Lisbon: Azambuja, Vila Franca de Xira.

District of Portalegre: Ponte de Sor.

District of Santarém : Abrantes, Alcanena, Almeirim, Alpiarça, Benavente, Santarém, Chamusca, Constance, Coruche, Road Junction, Ferreira do Zêzere, Golegã, Rio Maior, Salvaterra de Magos, Santarém, Sardoal, Tomar, Torres Novas, Vila Nova da Barquinha.

District of Setúbal: Alcochete, Montijo.



O their former territory breaks down today by the Alentejo, Centre and Lisbon, and by 2002 was the core of the former region of Lisbon and Tagus Valley. In terms of subregions, finds itself divided by the Greater Lisbon (municipality of Vila Franca de Xira), Alto Alentejo (Ponte de Sor municipality) and also for the entire sub-region of the Tagus Wetland and the entire Middle Tagus (with the exception of county Ourem).

Comments are closed.

Free eCards, Free ePoscards